Almond Poppy Seed Muffins

Okay, so today is my friend’s birthday, she is turning 2, and I thought it would be fun to try and make her almond poppy seed muffins! I’ve never made them before, but I have had the most delicious one ever, and I thought I should try to recreate it for you guys!

 

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons poppy seeds

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

3 cups all-purpose flour

2 1/2 cups sugar

3 eggs

1 1/2 cups milk (almond milk if vegan)

1 cup canola oil

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 1/2 teaspoons almond extract

Instructions:

In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, poppy seeds, baking powder and salt. In another bowl, whisk the eggs, milk, oil and extracts; stir into dry ingredients just until moistened.

Fill greased or paper-lined muffin cups two-thirds full. Bake at 350° for 20-25 minutes or until muffins test done. Cool in pan 10 minutes before removing to a wire rack. Serve warm.

Okay, so there you go! I know almond poppy seed is a little different than the usual lemon, but they are still super awesome! Enjoy!

-BakerQueen

 

5 Comments

  1. This looks tasty! Happy Birthday to your friend!

  2. How many does this make? I love almond and I’m wondering if you had tried using almond flour as part of the flour part, how would that work out?

  3. Wow, great job! What do poppy seeds taste like? What are they? How did the muffins come out?

    • Poppy seeds taste, I mean, if I’m being honest, they don’t taste very good on their own. They are pretty bitter, and I personally think they are awful on their own. But in muffins, they are AWESOME!!!! I don’t know exactly what they are, but if I had to guess, I’d say they are (gasp!) seeds from poppies. But don’t quote me on that because I might be wrong. And the muffins were great! I know it wasn’t excellent photography, but they tasted soooo much better than I was expecting. Almond extract is a wonderful thing. Like, it’s probably one of my favorite smells.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *